The ICC would like to thank the following sponsors:


Click here to download the official Miżieb September 2014 race results.

Click here to download the official Mtaħleb June 2014 race results.

Click here to download the official Xagħra May 2014 race results.

Click here to download the official Mtaħleb 2014 race results.

Click here to download the official Penellu April 2014 race results.

Zammit Wins Mtahleb Hill Climb

Link to's article.

Link to's article.

The opening round of the 2014 Island Car Club (ICC) Hillclimb Championship was held recently in Mtahleb, limits of Rabat.

The weather turned out to be good and a total of 64 cars participated, varying from standard road legal right up to single-seater Formula type racers.

Zach Zammit placed first in his Urban-Jungle Ralt after recording his benchmark time of 52.545sec which marked a maiden victory for the 24 year old. 

Zammit was champion back in 2012 and with this victory he is showing top form, reassuring a repeat in title success. 

Keith Camilleri driving his Chevron-Creative-Solutions-Radical Prosport clinched second place with an excellent time of 53.383sec. 

The rookie driver sped uphill in an impressive manner, sending a strong message to rivals that he could be the man to beat.

Jonathon Tonna placed a creditable third after a formidable drive in his Fat Harry’s Tatuus Hayabusa single-seater, producing a blistering third run just half a second behind the runner up – 53.885 sec.

James Dunford on board his Simon’s Garage Radical PR6 was fourth overall (54.358 secs) after a fine clean drive that nearly got him on the podium. 

However with a dedicated team to rely on with an expertise in racecar preparation and setup, maximum competitiveness is definitely ensured.

Reigning champion Mark Micallef was fifth fastest (54.969 secs) in his Auto-Trader Malta & MBL-Malta Radical Prosport. Micallef had to deal with technical difficulties during the race which forced him to miss two runs out of four. 

Kurt Camilleri rounded off the top six overall standings in his supercharged Chevron Auto-dealer Radical SR (55.470 secs).

Alex Zammit won best performance in the veteran category, achieving an excellent time of 55.755sec in his Radical Pro Sport, ranking 7th overall.

Good competition at Mtaħleb was not only reserved to the single-seaters alone as the top Touring cars of various sizes got engaged in a scintillating performance leaving the audience totally awestruck, many of them within tenths of a second away from each other.

In the front-wheel drive series, Didier Bugeja (Peugeot 106) placed first ahead of Jeremy Cassar (Volkswagen Golf) and Etienne Grech (Citroen Saxo).

The honours for fastest four-wheel drive cars went to Dr. Anthony Bernard who steered his powerful Mitsubishi Evolution to an outstanding 11th place overall. 

Michael Fenech (Audi TT) was runner up whilst Chris Aquilina (Subaru Impreza) claimed third place.

John Zammits’s dynamic Audi-powered Lotus Elise was quickest in the rear wheel drive category, placing thirteenth overall. Noel Galea (Ford Escort) followed whilst David Anastasi (Mini) grabbed third.

The next championship race is scheduled for Sunday at the Mellieħa bypass. 

The club advised that with the authority’s consent, Triq Louis Wettinger (Mellieha by-pass) shall be closed off from 8am till 17.00pm. 

Whilst apologizing for any inconvenience caused, the Island Car Club is encouraging the general public to assist this exciting event. 

Over 70 drivers are expected to race against the clock. The first run of the day commences at 9am.

The Grimaldi Lines ICC Hillclimb Championship - Mtaħleb March 2014

Click here to download the official results.

ICC 2014 Membership is now open

The ICC 2014 Membership application is now available online on our portal.

If you already paid your 2014 membership, please ignore this notice.

To all members who didn't pay the ICC 2014 membership, you can pay your membership online using this 'event' on our new portal. Upon payment, we will be notified and will approve your account manually.

If you require any form of assistance, please call on 79323097 or email us on

Grimaldi Lines

Grimaldi Lines are the 2013 official sponsor. The 2013 championship is named as: 
"The Grimaldi Lines 2013 Hillclimb & Sprint Championship".
A big thanks goes to Mr. Ernest Sullivan for his continual support to Motorsport. The committee also wishes to thank Simon Muscat for securing the deal Well Done.

Micallef’s Radical conquers Ta’ Penellu

The sixth round from the 2013 Grimaldi Lines Hillclimb Championship organized by the Island Car Club was held at Penellu Hill, Mellieha on Sunday 6th June.

Seventy five cars entered the race, proof of the level of commitment local competitors have for motorsports. The participating cars covered almost every domain found in the world of racing, from standard production cars, stripped out race cars, rally cars, homemade ‘specials’ built by enthusiasts in their garage through to classic formula cars that could be displayed in museums.

Spectators were amused with several excellent performances by local drivers, who thundered up the Ta’ Pennellu Hill in a quest for elusive points, in a haze of rubber and high octane fuel.

Due to the excellent state of the newly resurfaced road and its long straights, the organizing body added three technical sections to the main straight in an attempt to keep speeds low yet challenging both the driver’s ability as well as that of the car. These comprised two tight two-point chicanes and a four-point chicane half way up the hill. This presented the hundreds of spectators that lined the road with a great show in car control and a couple of instances where drivers ran out of talent and ended in a harmless overshoot or spin.

Mark Micallef yet again proved to be a conqueror after he put in a blistering lap (55.232 sec) to top the timesheets in his Auto Trader Malta & MBL Malta Radical Prosport. This was Micallef’s fifth success this year and puts him clearly atop of the ICC championship on hill climb wins. 

In second place was the multi-time champion Hubert Camilleri in his Mclaren-Garage Chevron. Camilleri was back in good form after suffering numerous mechanical failures in previous hill climbs, managing an excellent time of 56.485sec.

Jonathon Tonna was third in his Fat Harry’s Tatuus Hayabusa single-seater (57.585sec) once again taking the third spot on the podium.
Adam Bugeja in his Jekran OMS finished in fourth place producing a fine display managing to outpace Jason Muscat with his B4 Radical Clubsport who grabbed fifth place.

Joe Mifsud won best performance in the veteran category, achieving an excellent time of 67.451sec in his Sly Machine Racer, ranking 16th overall. Aldo Laferla was the best veteran in the saloon car section with his Mitsubishi Evo 6.

Noel Galea’s vibrant Ford Escort Mk2 was fastest rear wheel drive car, placing in the top ten narrowly beating Joe Cutajar who drove his turbo charged Ford Escort Mk2 on home grounds.

Steve Buttigieg won best 4-wheel drive cathegory with his Cosworth powered Ford Escort Mk1 Turbo closely followed by Steve Baldachino in his Subaru Impreza.

Roswell Bugeja preceded the front wheelers in his rambunctious Peugeot 205 Gti ahead of his brother Didier Bugeja with his Peugeot 106 Gti.

The next round of the 2013 Grimaldi Lines I.C.C championship will be held in mid September and the venue is yet to be announced.

Copyright © Island Car Club 2014 | design and developed by kcutajar